knoxville news

knoxville news knoxville daily sun lifestyle business knoxville sports travel knoxville classifieds knoxville jobs knoxville legal notices knoxville yellow pages smoky mountains contact facebook twitter linkedin rss entertainment knoxville advertising

Comcast Nbcuniversal awards $20,000 in scholarships to East Tennessee high school seniors

Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship program recognizes students’ achievements both in and out of the classroom

comcast scholarships to east tn high school seniors
Comcast scholarship recipients; image submitted.

KNOXVILLE – Comcast NBCUniversal today announced that it has awarded $20,000 in scholarships for the 2019-20 school year to eight Middle Tennessee students as part of its annual Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program. Students are selected for their outstanding community service, academic performance, and leadership skills. The award, funded by the Comcast NBCUniversal Foundation, is a one-time, $2,500 scholarship to be used toward undergraduate education-related expenses. Since 2001, more than $33 million has been awarded to nearly 30,000 high school seniors across the country as part of the Leaders and Achievers program.

“Our Leaders and Achievers Scholarship winners are exceptional students who are committed to academic excellence and community service,” said Comcast Regional SVP, Doug Guthrie. “We are honored to recognize their achievements and excited to support them as they continue their educational journeys.”

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program provides scholarships to students who strive to achieve their full potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools, and who serve as role models for their fellow students. The philosophy behind the program is to give young people every opportunity to prepare for the future and to engage them in their communities. The program also demonstrates the importance and value of civic involvement, especially by the business community.

East Tennessee Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Winners

Aden Klein, Gatlinburg-Pittman High School, Gatlinburg
Chloe Hamby, Berean Christian School, Knoxville
Helen Babb, West High School, Knoxville
Jacquelynn Walker, Austin East High School, Knoxville
Lydia Steimer, Bearden High School, Knoxville
Maria Holt, Austin East Magnet High, Knoxville
Melanie Moczadlo, Farragut High School, Knoxville
Sneh Patel, Gatlinburg-Pittman, Gatlinburg

Published July 19, 2019 USA, LLC

knoxville daily sun Knoxville Daily Sun
2019 Image Builders
User Agreement | Privacy Policy